Moby-Dick™

Leben mit Herman Melville

Rogue’s Gallery: The Art of the Siren, #35

leave a comment »

Song: Ed Harcourt: Farewell Nancy (6:06 minutes)
from Rogue’s Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs, and Chanteys, ANTI- 2006.

Artist Edward Henry Richard Harcourt-Smith’s Myspace page;
songs playlist.

Buy CD in Germany and elsewhere.

Blonde Lara Images: De Koekkoek: Harmony and Lara, July 14, 2006.

Lyrics:

1. “Fare you well me lovely Nancy for it’s now I must leave you,
All along the Southern sea I am bound for to go.
Don’t let my long absence be no trouble to you,
For I shall return in the spring as you know.”

2. “Like some pretty little seaboy I’ll dress and go with you,
In the deepest of dangers I shall stand your friend.
In the cold stormy weather when the winds are a-blowing,
My dear I’ll be willing to wait for you then.”

3. “Well, your pretty little hands they can’t handle our tackle,
And dour dainty little feet to our topmast can’t go.
And the cold stormy weather love you can’t well endure,
I would have you ashore when the winds they do blow.

4. So fare you well me lovely Nancy for it’s now I must leave you,
All along the Southern sea I am bound for to go.
As you must be safe I’ll be loyal and constant
For I shall return in the spring as you know.”

Explanatory liner notes by ANTI-:

This ballad was published in Joyce’s Ancient Irish Music (1873). There are published versions of closely related songs going back to at least 1810. In some versions of the story Nancy does indeed dress in men’s clothing and follow William to sea. In a related song, Jack Monroe, Nancy’s sailor is wounded and she saves him.

Written by Wolf

8. February 2010 at 12:01 am

Posted in Siren Sounds

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

