Moby-Dick™

Leben mit Herman Melville

Ahab gets a movie (and a T-Shirt)

leave a comment »

Jürgen findet die richtigen Filme nebst passenden T-Shirts:

“Would’st thou brand me, Perth?” wincing for a moment with the pain; “have I been but forging my own branding-iron, then?”

“Pray God, not that; yet I fear something, Captain Ahab. Is not this harpoon for the White Whale?”

Chapter 113: The Forge

Jürgen Jessebird SchmitteÜber ein interessantes Filmprojekt bin ich gestolpert: Auf der Seite DARKSTRIDER wird allem Anschein nach eine Stop-Motion-Animation nach Motiven aus Moby-Dick realisiert. Bisher gibt es nur wenige, sehr kurze Szenen zu sehen (die allerdings gefallen mir sehr gut!). Wie “Darkstrider” Mike Brent selbst sagt: “My main focus is on the Eastern European style of stopmotion known as Puppetfilm.”

Unter On the table findet sich dann folgendes:

Back on deck

My main purpose on this page is to relate my progress on my #1 project… what’s come to be known as The Ahab Film. That’s only a working title… I don’t intend to give away too much info this early in the game. As much as I’ve discussed this project on the pages of SMA, I’ve never revealed the real central concept, or my approach to it.

Portrait Captain Ahab, darkstrider.netUnd dann, als erklärender Text zu diversen Filmschnipseln:

The following are my animation tests of Ahab at the forge. That’s not how it will be in the film… he’s the captain, not the blacksmith, but I haven’t made the blacksmith puppet yet, so Ahab is filling in for now…

Schaut man sich “Hammer Test #8” an, sieht man, dass dort eine Harpune geschmiedet wird…

Auch ein Blog gibt es dazu: Darkmatters. Explorations in the art of stopmotion animation. Dort ist aber wenig über das Filmprojekt zu finden. Immerhin der Hinweis, daß man ein Ahab-T-Shirt bestellen kann.

Bild: Captain Ahab bei Darkstrider.


Hinweis in eigener Sache: Noch 11 Tage bis zum Ende des Gewinnspiels! Mitmachen!

Written by Wolf

4. April 2008 at 12:01 am

Posted in Moses Jürgen

Leave a Reply

