Moby-Dick™

Leben mit Herman Melville

Rogue’s Gallery: The Art of the Siren, #3

with one comment

Song: John C. Reilly: My Son John (1:39 minutes)
from Rogue’s Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs, and Chanteys, ANTI- 2006.
Buy CD in Germany and elsewhere.
Image: Lina Hansson: Young siren counting her legs and limbs,
digital illustration made in Painter, January 19/20, 2003.

Lyrics:

My son John was tall and slim
And he had a leg for every limb.
But now he’s got no legs at all,
For he ran a race with a cannonball.

Timmy doo dum da, fa riddle da,
Wack for me riddle timmy roo dum da.

Were you deaf or were you blind,
When you left your two fine legs behind?
Or was it sailing on the sea
Were two fine legs right down to your knee?

I was not deaf, I was not blind,
When I left two fine legs behind,
Nor was it sailing on the sea
Were two fine legs right down to my knee.

But I was tall and I was slim
And I had a leg for every limb,
But now I’ve got no legs at all,
They were both shot away by a cannonball.

Traditional

PS: For October 27th, Moby-Dick™ sends congratulations, blessings, and respect
from all of us on the P.E.Q.U.O.D. to:

Written by Wolf

27. October 2008 at 12:01 am

Posted in Siren Sounds

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. записалась в ряды приверженцев!

    Evgenia

    29. October 2008 at 1:43 pm


Leave a Reply

