Moby-Dick™

Leben mit Herman Melville

Rogue’s Gallery: The Art of the Siren, #5

leave a comment »

Song: Loudon Wainwright III: Turkish Revelry (4:22 minutes)
from Rogue’s Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs, and Chanteys, ANTI- 2006.
Buy CD in Germany and elsewhere.
Image: Knut Ekwall: The Fisherman and the Siren, ca. 1900.

Lyrics:

There was a little ship
and she sailed on the sea
and the name of the ship was the Turkish Revelry.
She sailed down in that lonely lonesome water,
she sailed on the lonesome sea.

Up stepped a little sailor
saying: What will you give to me
to sink that ship to the bottom of the sea,
if I sink her in the lonely lonesome water,
if I sink her in the lonesome sea?

“I have a house
and I have some land
and I have a daughter that shall be at your command,
if you sink her in the lonely lonesome water,
if you sink her in the lonesome sea.”

He bowed on his breast
and away swam he
and he swam till he came to the Turkish Revelry.
She sailed down on that lonely lonesome water,
she sailed on the lonesome sea.

He had a little awe
all made for to bore
and he bored nine holes in the bottom of the floor,
and he sank her in the lonely lonesome water,
he sank her in the lonesome sea.

He bowed on his breast
away swam he
and he swam till he came to the Golden Willow Tree,
as she sailed in the lonely lonesome water,
as she sailed in the lonesome sea.

Captain oh Captain,
will you be good as your word
or either take me up on board,
for I’ve sunk her in that lonely lonesome water,
I’ve sunk her in the lonesome sea.

“No I won’t be
as good as my word
or neither will I take you up on board,
though you’ve sunk her in that lonely lonesome water,
though you’ve sunk he in the lonesome sea.”

If it were not for
the love I bear your men
I would sink you the same just as I sank them.
I’d sink you in that lonely lonesome water,
yes I’d sink you in the lonely sea.

He bowed on his breast
and downward sank he,
bidding a farewell to the Golden Willow Tree.
He sank in that lonely lonesome water,
he sank in the lonely sea.

Child Ballad 286: The Sweet Trinity (The Golden Vanity), from:
Child Ballads, or: The English and Scottish Popular Ballads 1882 to 1898,
conveyed by Sir Walter Raleigh, ca. 1635.

Written by Wolf

10. November 2008 at 12:01 am

Posted in Siren Sounds

Leave a Reply

