Moby-Dick™

Leben mit Herman Melville

Rogue’s Gallery: The Art of the Siren, #11

leave a comment »

Song: Mark Anthony Thompson: Haul Away Joe (4:11 minutes)
from Rogue’s Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs, and Chanteys, ANTI- 2006.
Buy CD in Germany and elsewhere.
Image: John William Waterhouse: The Siren, 1900.

Lyrics:

When I was a little boy, or so my mother told me
Way, haul away, we’ll haul away Joe
That if I did not kiss the girls, my lips would soon grow moldy
Way, haul away, we’ll haul away Joe.

Way, haul away, the good ship is a-blowing,
Way, haul away, the sheet is now a-flowing.

King Louis was the king of France before the Revolution,
But then he got his head cut off, not good for his constitution.

First I got a Spanish girl, but she got fat and lazy,
Now I have a Brooklyn girl, she damn near drives me crazy.

Way, haul away, we’ll haul and hang together,
Way, haul away, we’ll sail for better weather.

Way, haul away, I’ll sing to you of Nancy,
Way, haul away, for she’s my cup and fancy.

Way, haul away, we’ll haul away together,
Way, haul away, we’ll sail through nasty weather.

Tack and sheet chantey.
Comes on the word Joe!.

Written by Wolf

22. December 2008 at 12:04 am

Posted in Siren Sounds

Leave a Reply

