Moby-Dick™

Leben mit Herman Melville

Rogue’s Gallery: The Art of the Siren, #23

leave a comment »

Song: Mary Margaret O’Hara: The Cry of Man (3:06 minutes)
from Rogue’s Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs, and Chanteys, ANTI- 2006.
Buy CD in Germany and elsewhere.
Image: Marilyn Monroe et al. for Creme Nivea Moisturizer
via Never Sea Land, October 5, 2007.

David Coulter on the musical saw.

Lyrics:

1. There is a crying in my heart
That never will be still,
Like the voice of a lonely bird
Behind a starry hill.

2. There is a crying in my heart
For what I may not know,
Infinite crying of desire
Because my feet are slow.

3. My feet are slow, my eyes are blind,
My hands are weak to hold.
It is the universe I seek
All life I would enfold.

4. = 1.

Explanatory liner notes by ANTI-:

Here is a musical setting of a poem by Harry Kemp (1883–1960). Kemp was famous (or infamous) as a bohemian and boxcar poet. He lived much of his life in Greenwich Village. He also lived in shacks, rode freight cars, and as a young man, ran away to sea.

The views spread in the video and below feature Marilyn Monroe, who committed to Bert Stern in 1962 that she got her proverbial beauty from Nivea Skin Moisturizing Lotion. Video: 1950s advertising illustration; curiosidades image: utilizando a loção Nivea, probably for The Seven Year Itch, already in 1955.

Marilyn par sempre, curiosidades, using Nivea Skin Moisturizing Lotion
My feet are slow, my eyes are blind.

Written by Wolf

27. March 2009 at 12:01 am

Posted in Siren Sounds

Leave a Reply

