Moby-Dick™

Leben mit Herman Melville

Rogue’s Gallery: The Art of the Siren, #36

leave a comment »

Song: Stan Ridgway: Hanging Johnny (3:28 minutes)
from Rogue’s Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs, and Chanteys, ANTI- 2006.

Artist’s website;
songs playlist.

Buy CD in Germany and elsewhere.

Images: Chih-Han Hsu and Victor Tango:
Your Cold Feet Only Stirred Up Dark Ripples,
Queensland, Australia, November 7, 2009.

Lyrics:

1.: They call me hanging Johnny,
hee yay-hay-i-o
I never hanged nobody
(and it’s) hang, boys, hang.

2.: First I hanged your mother,
Me sister and me brother.

3.: I’d hang to make things jolly,
I’d hang all wrong and folly.

Chorus.: A rope, a beam, a ladder,
I’ll hang ye all together
Well next I hanged me granny
I’d hang the wholly family.

4.: They call me hanging Johnny,
I never hanged nobody.

(Solo)

Bridge.: Come hang, come haul together,
Come hang for finer weather,
Hang on from the yardarm,
Hang the sea and buy a big farm.

5.: They call me hanging Johnny,
I never hung nobody.

6.: I’d hang the mates and skippers,
I’d hang ’em by their flippers.

7.: I’d hang the highway robber,
I’d hang the burglar jobber.

8.: I’d hang the noted liar,
I’d hang a bloated friar.

9.: They say I hung a copper,
I gave him the long dropper.

Explanatory liner notes by ANTI-:

A maneuver called swigging was sometimes used to give a last strong tightening pull on a halyard. This essentially involved one or more sailors reaching high and hanging on the line with their full weight-hence, the association with hanging at the halyards where this chantey was used.

Written by Wolf

1. April 2010 at 12:01 am

Posted in Siren Sounds

Leave a Reply

