Moby-Dick™

Leben mit Herman Melville

Rogue’s Gallery: The Art of the Siren, #37

with 3 comments

Song: Baby Gramps: Old Man of the Sea (5:18 minutes)
from Rogue’s Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs, and Chanteys, ANTI- 2006.

Artist’s website;
songs playlist.

Buy CD in Germany and elsewhere.

Rotschopf-Image: Connor Creagan, October 3, 2009.

Lyrics:

1.: At times I feel the shapeliest of mermaids
course through my veins,
but the feel of these shapely mermaids
of course is only in vain.

2.: I would let the seaweed splash
upon my eyelash.
I would let the seaweed splash, splash, splash
upon my eyelash.

3.: If I were the Old Man of the Sea,
I would bathe the lovely mermaids.
If I were the old man of the seawee-, wee-, seaweeds,
I’d bathe the lovely mermaids.

4.: Now I dreamt I saw an old mermaid snorkel
down dangle from the ships portal,
and when I tiptoed to peep in (in a bucket of absinthe),
saw she was soaking her fins.

5.: I would let Miss Octopus
brush and braid my bush.
I’d let miss Octo-, Miss Octopus
brush and braid my bush.

6.: If I were the Old Man of the Sea,
I would bathe the lovely mermaids.
If I were the Old Man of the Sea,
I’d bathe the lovely mermaids.

7.: At times I feel the shapeliest of mermaids
course through my veins,
but the feel of these shapely mermaids
of course is only in vain.

8.: I would let the seaweed splash
upon my eyelash.
I would let the seaweed splash, splash, splash
upon my eyelash.

9.: If I were the Old Man of the Sea
I would bathe the lovely mermaids.
If I were the old man of the seawee-, wee-, seaweeds,
I’d bathe the lovely mermaids.

Explanatory liner notes by ANTI-:

Sailors often attributed human qualities and consciousness to many aspects of their watery environs. Belief in mermaids, the Old Man of the Sea, malicious winds, and the like persist to this day.

Written by Wolf

11. May 2010 at 12:01 am

Posted in Siren Sounds

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. (Ganz weg vom Thema, man verzeihe mir.)

    Herzliche Glückwünsche nachträglich zum Geburtstag, lieber Wolf. Möge die Macht mit Dir sein, wenigstens aber Gesundheit und Glück in diesem neuen Lebensjahr.

    wortteufel

    11. May 2010 at 8:37 am

  2. Man verzeiht dir .ò)

    Dankedanke — kann ich alles brauchen! :o)

    Wolf

    11. May 2010 at 1:45 pm

  3. Hach, fein. Dann soll es so sein.

    wortteufel

    12. May 2010 at 10:01 am


Leave a Reply

