Moby-Dick™

Leben mit Herman Melville

His Life and Times

leave a comment »

Update for Shut Up ‘N Play Yer Guitar:

From the liner notes to Bob Dylan, 1961, by Robert Shelton as “Stacey Williams”:

His Life and Times

Bob Dylan was born in Duluth, Minnesota, on May 24, 1941. […]

“I didn’t agree with school,” he says. “I flunked out. I read a lot, but not the required readings.”

He remembers staying up all night plowing through the philosophy of Kant instead of reading “Living With the Birds” for a science course.

“Mostly,” he summarizes his college days, “I couldn’t stay in one place long enough.” […]

Recalling his first professional music job, Bob says:

“I never thought I would shoot lightning through the sky in the entertainment world.”

In 1959, in Central City, Colorado, he had that first job, in rough and tumble striptease joint.

“I was onstage for just a few minutes with my folk songs. Then the strippers would come on. The crowd would yell for more stripping, but they went off, and I’d come bouncing back with my folky songs. As the night got longer, the air got heavier, the audience got drunker and nastier, and I got sicker and finally I got fired.”

Charles M. Schulz, Peanuts, May 1971

Image: Charles M. Schulz: Peanuts via Pictures of Dylan (Dylan, Oh Dylan!), May 1971.

(No music by Bob Dylan. Listening to music by Bob Dylan in public places is practically illegal.)

Written by Wolf

24. May 2011 at 12:01 am

Posted in Moses Wolf

Leave a Reply

